Why I teach the way I teach. The Skill-Theory principles which underpin my teaching approach

Addysgu iaith – Nid sut ond pam! Bendigedig @Gianfrancoconti. I needed that.

https://gianfrancoconti.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/the-skill-theory-principles-which-underpin-my-teaching-approach/

The Language Gym

Fig. 1 – The most influential Skill-Theory account of language acquisition (Anderson, 1983)

1. Introduction

In a previous post, I argued that every language teacher, both novice and expert, should ask themselves the question “How do I believe that languages are learnt?” as a starting point for a deep and productive reflection on their own teaching practice.

The answer to that question is key, as without a clear and solid set of pedagogic principles our curriculum planning and design and every other decision that affects teaching and learning in our classroom will be random and haphazard or based on ‘hunches’. Imagine choosing a course-book, creating assessment procedures and materials,  deciding to integrate Information Technology or Generic-skill learning in our teaching without having formed an opinion as to how languages are best taught and learnt? Would you believe me if I told you that I have seen this done…

View original post 4,238 yn rhagor o eiriau

Gadael Ymateb

