Lesson observation

Teaching and Learning – Observations

RCCS Teaching and Learning

We really do need to start getting this right in schools.

For a long time now I have used the analogy of the medical profession. No doctor watches another to give him a score, a mark out of ten, or an assessment based on a framework which, with the best will in the world, will always be subjective. But the practice of observing- and helping-  is widespread. If I were to tackle a complicated knee operation for example it would be quite normal for me to ask a colleague for advice, to ask if I could watch him do a similar op, or to invite him into theatre to assist. If I wanted to try something a little different I would almost certainly ensure I shared my planning with a colleague and request her presence when I carried out the procedure. I would only be appreciative of the help offered, it…

View original post 498 yn rhagor o eiriau

Gadael Ymateb

